AB de Villiers Starter Kit

Category : News, Photo

AB de Villiers and his new Starter Kit for Juniors AB and the fine people at Kookaburra have together developed a cricket starter kit exclusively for schools and junior clubs to help them get the quality equipment they need at an affordable price.

The kit includes bats, protective equipment (gloves, helmets, leg pads, guards), stumps and carry bag. These are all Kookaburra brand – just like AB uses – so you know it’s good stuff! For more info on how to get your hands on this kit, go to AB’s Official Site.

General update

Category : News

AB had surgery on his left ankle on Thursday and spent two nights in hospital. He has now gone home to Bela-Bela where he will spend the next 8-10 days recovering under his mum’s wing. We wish him a very speedy recovery!

The release date for AB and Ampie’s upcoming album, “Maak Jou Drome Waar” is now August 2, 2010 in South Africa. Release dates for other countries have yet to be confirmed, and we are still awaiting confirmation as to whether the album will be available for download. AB has confirmed though, that the second single to be released on the album will be in English (following the debut single and title track, Maak Jou Drome Waar, in Afrikaans). The album consists mainly of power ballads with a “follow-your-dreams” theme; and love songs.

AB’s favourite song on the album is one that he and Ampie wrote in honour of the inspirational Nelson Mandela, called “Madibaland”.

AB named Standard Bank ODI Player of the Year

Category : News

Congratulations to AB who picked up the Standard Bank ODI Player of the Year award at the annual CSA Awards on Tuesday night. Congratulations also to Hashim Amla who won just about everything else! 🙂

De Villiers threatens to topple Dhoni

Category : News

Mahendra Singh Dhoni has retained his top spot in the ICC ODI rankings but is closely followed by South African AB de Villiers who has narrowed the gap with the Indian captain to just two points.

Dhoni has 807 rating points, while de Villiers 805 in the latest ICC chart released on Tuesday.

De Villiers rose to the second position after a successful five-match away series against the West Indies where he accumulated 283 runs. Batting icon Sachin Tendulkar retained his sixth position with 732 points.

In the bowling ratings, India spinner Harbhajan Singh continued to be at 11th position with 624 points, while pacer Praveen Kumar gained a spot to be at 15th position with 609 points.

England pacer Stuart Broad has returned to the top five of the rankings. The 24-year-old has gained three places and now sits in joint-fifth position, level with Kyle Mills of New Zealand and Australia’s Doug Bollinger.

The bowling rankings are still headed by New Zealand captain Daniel Vettori followed in second place by Bangladesh left-arm slow bowler Shakib Al Hasan. There is no change in the top five of the ICC Player Rankings for ODI all-rounders with Shakib still at top and Pakistan’s Shahid Afridi in second position.

Source: The Inetrnational News – July 15, 2010

Proteas fans await awards glory

Category : News

Two lucky Proteas fans who have won a once in a lifetime opportunity to hand over the CSA Fans’ Cricketer of the Year award at the 2010 SA Cricket Awards Gala Dinner at the Sandton Convention Centre on July 20, say they can’t wait to attend South African cricket’s most memorable night.

Proteas stars, AB de Villiers, Jacques Kallis and Hashim Amla emerged as the front runners for the Award after online voting, which ran on the Cricket South Africa (CSA) website for just over a month.

The two fans, Sibusiso Sithole Dube and Salma Mayet, to put themselves in line for this top honour by logging on to the CSA website (www.cricket.co.za) and casting their vote for their favourite cricketer. A random draw determined the two lucky winners.

Dube said he is counting down the days with great excitement: “I can’t put into words how I feel about getting an opportunity as huge as this. I’m so excited and overwhelmed. This opportunity doesn’t come along every day and I’m just grateful to CSA for allowing me to share in the festivities.”

Mayet was equally delighted, saying: “I was surprised and happy at receiving this opportunity. I’m so grateful to be able to attend an event of this importance with my husband and friends.”

Aside from the honour of handing over the CSA Fan’s Cricketer of the Year award, each winner will win a VIP experience to CSA’s most memorable night of the year, along with three friends of their choice.

Social media platforms are buzzing with talk of who will walk away with the premier accolade on the night, the 2010 SA Cricketer of the Year. The four nominees are AB de Villiers, Dale Steyn, Hashim Amla and Jacques Kallis.

Twitter is trending #CSAawards, and fans are also debating the topic on CSA’s Facebook Fans Page, which rocketed to over 20 000 fans this week.

The Gala Dinner in association with Standard Bank, Castle and MTN is the culmination of CSA Day, a day set aside annually to celebrate the achievements of the South African cricket family during the past season.

Source: Sport24.co.za – July 16, 2010